Tuesday, September 15, 2009
Great swim this morning
First, this is a fast pace for me for 10 X 100's. I would usually do this set on 1:55 or 2:00. however I decided... I'll do the 1:50 interval expecting to hold 1:45's. Preceding the set was 2 X 200's and I figured i would try these on 3:40 shooting for holding the 1:45 pace.
I did the 200's in 3:25 easily, 5 seconds faster than I expected. So I figured holding the 1:45 pace would be about right with 5 seconds rest.
Then I started and I did the first 100 in 1:37. I basically held the pace easily throughout. I focused on relaxing my hand in the front primarily and my kick was minimal. Everything just felt like it was flowing. It was good stuff. Faster and easier that's perfect!
Saturday, September 12, 2009
Still recovering...
I haven't done much this week. Today I ran for the first time and really the last real run before the 1/2 Ironman. I did a 90 minute run and did the Lance Armstrong Interval workout for the first 40 minutes and then just ran for the last 40. It felt good. I have been a bit concerned about my fitness for the 1/2 Ironman but really at this point there is little I can do. I certainly have not been following a training plan, more of a fitness plan. It will be interesting to see how it goes.
I'm pretty sure I got infected when I did the Hood to Coast. A note remembering that an event like that can really cost you with long term effects.
Wednesday, September 02, 2009
Hood to Coast Recovery
Today I worked on eating like a naturally slender person. I ate when I was hungry and tried to stop when I felt satisfied. That was probably the hardest part especially if something was particularly good. I had to remind myself of the abundance. I had made 2 yummy mushroom pizzas and only ate one although I really wanted to eat the other. THe other thing I made was a shrimp salad sandwich which was also very yummy. I had half a bagel with it and fruit and just a few doritos. It again was hard to stop with just that. I am going to work on thinking about stretching the flavor versus sucking it all in at the beginning. THere is an abundance and I can always make it again. I do not have to eat it all right now.
The other thing I've noticed this week is that we have soooooo much food in our house at any one time. I haven't had to make a trip to the store all week. I actually have a hard time using up all the fresh veggies and fruit before they go bad. LEarning how to shop for the quantity you need is an art. So is cooking for a small group. We seem to always have more than we need. It feels like we always have to have leftovers and that you only want so much leftovers. I think this is another area to work on because it all feeds into the other.
Tuesday, September 01, 2009
Body fat calculations
Time to get serious again. I know I can do this. Just takes time and focus.
Ironman Canada 2011
What if I were fitter and faster than ever before? How would that feel? WOuldn't that be awesome? I would LOVE to go under 13 hours. I know I could do it.
So I guess it's time to start setting my goals for the next two years to get ready for this goal. First and foremost is getting my weight down to a normal range. That will be my biggest asset. THe other is making sure I have the training time and can balance working and training and E'llee!
Sunday, August 30, 2009
Hood to Coast
Would I ever do it again? Ummmmm.... maybe. Not really my cup of tea.
I did better than I thought I would do. I had leg 6 whose 2nd leg goes uphill for 4 miles. I didn't think I would do well with that but I did. I kept the same pace throughout just a bit slower than my first leg which was downhill quite a bit.
I kept a 10:15 pace for most of my legs. Hilary and I talked about it and he said I am probably a tempo runner in that I will try to keep the same pace regardless of the terrain. So on the downhill I don't push the pace but relax and on the uphill I push it harder to keep it up.
Thursday, August 20, 2009
Test Swim Set
During the warm up I just did the TI drills working my way up to whole stroke freestyle. Warm up was 100 kick, 100 swim, 100 kick, 200 swim, 100 kick, 300 swim, 100 kick, 400 swim.
Then we did a set of 6 X 100's 75 Build Free, 25 K... Odds Free, evens back.
Test set was
4 X 100 @ 1:55
2 X 100 @ 1:45
4 X 100 @ 1:50
2 X 100 @ 1:40
I made all of them pretty much on 1:40 except the last one. It was a 1:43.
I focused on letting gravity help me. To relax into my stroke and let gravity push me forward instead of strength. I found I was not that tired when i was done although my stroke was falling apart a bit at the end. When you relax it doesn't fall apart. It's when you put all that effort into it that it falls apart.
I also focused a little bit today with exhaling through the full cycle. I think I'll concentrate on this more when I feel a bit more comfortable with all the nuances. I did feel like it relaxed me more so it's worth the effort but my brain can only concentrate on so many things.
I did notice today when my hand didn't hit the right spot which is good. I really felt it when I crossed over so that is huge progress too.
Tuesday, August 18, 2009
Yeah! Swimming!
Anyway, today was a masters day. I truthfully was not looking forward to it as I felt like crap in the water yesterday. So I went reluctantly hoping that it would feel better than yesterday and it DID! YEAH!!!
I did not do many drills however I have spend about 4.5 hours doing drills over the past 3 days. It's hard to do drills when you are expected to do a written workout. So I incorporate them in the warm up and then try to have a focus for every set.
Todays sets were:
Warm up 800 yards
3 X (100, 50, 50) 100 DPS, 50 Side Kick, 50 Catch up
8 X 50 1:00
4 X 100 1:55
2 X 200 3:40
8 X 50 1:00
The main set was easy. Usually it would be really tiring for me and I would be struggling at the end but I ended the 8 X 50's on the same :50. Things felt good and effortless. I didn't feel any strain in my neck at all. I noticed I let my head relax and my focus was lower than usual and so my breathing was not as big of a turn of my head. I also focused on keeping my hand relaxed both on recovery and catch. That makes a huge difference. No energy just disipating for no reason. I see things now with completely different eyes now. It's good.
Monday, August 10, 2009
Swim
15 - 16 strokes seems to be my ideal/length right now. If I could keep that stroke count and increase my velocity I think that would be ideal. It seems to be the stroke count where I have the most flexibility of speed.
The other thing I discovered is coming into the walls let the hand float out there longer and then let both arms take you around. Creates a much faster flip.
Today:
90 min Bike
60 min Swim
60 min run
That's the intent anyway.
Sunday, August 09, 2009
Swimming with arelaxed hand
Relaxing my hand is the key for me right now to increse my stroke length. The other thing for me to remember is to allow my should to relax too. Not bunch my shoulders up around my ears.
I have also beedn concentrating on keeping a calm focus. Letting my mind relax and focus on one thing at a time.
Its helping a lot. It is very different for me but I am starting to feel like those people in the video who have smooth beautiful and efficient strokes.
Sent from my BlackBerry.
Friday, August 07, 2009
Total Immersion Ideas and Notes
- Practice with Intent: Thinking about not just getting from one end of the pool to the other but everything you do in between
- Improvement Oriented Swimmer: Swim better than ever have in life
- Swimming is a concious act not a natural feeling
- Yard are to imprint correct movement
- Intervals are to be used to accomplish a task. Go when ready to complete the task in the manner of the intent.
- Gap between propulsive force and resistive force need to get bigger
- Resistive force is easier to change and improve
Training so far this week
Monday: Ride 90, Run 90
Tuesday: Ride 90 , Swim 90
Wednesday: Ride 90, Run 60
Thursday: Ride 90, Swim 90
Friday: Ride 90
So far this week that is 13 hours.
Do Over
I did try to control it a bit by just recognizing and acknowledging what I think was triggering it for me. That helped but did not stop it entirely.
Tuesday, August 04, 2009
Relaxed swimming
- Relaxing my hand
- Splashless entry
- Figuring out the right amount of roll
The #1 thing for me right now is relaxing my hand when it enters. I notice immediately that my hand and forearm almost double the amount of surface area when I relax my hand. My palm is automatically in teh right position to catch the water. Also my arm is deeper and ready to catch more water at the front of the stroke.
I find that I resist letting my hand go as deep as it will when it is relaxed. The habits in my body are to keep it close to the surface. I find if I just relax my stroke and let my hand "sink" naturally that works.
The splashless entry is really not a huge deal I think at this point except that it really does make you think about how you are placing your hand. I find that I sometimes do not relax however when I concentrate on the splashless entry.
Now the right amount of roll is key. Not too much. Not too little. That requires those midline stablilizers and training them. Again I need to just relax. I can feel when I go beyond my sweet spot. I just haven't drilled the sweet spot in yet. It's coming.
Did long swimming today just focusing on relaxing. My intent was to swim the last 25% of each distance more relaxed than the first 75% yet maintain the same speed.
Wednesday, July 29, 2009
Swimming relaxed
It just clicked so I was very interested to try it out and WOW!!!! I totally felt it. When I relaxed my hand on entry I totally felt like I was sccopping the water instead of pulling through it. It was great.
I did lots of yards. Never got tired. Felt smooth and relaxed. It was awesome. The video was from the Beginners triathlete site. They had 2 part to it. I hope to feel it again.
Tuesday, July 28, 2009
Hot Days
With the heat it is a little difficult (minimally really uncomfortable) to do all my workouts in the time frames I usually do them in. There is only so many workouts you can get in before work you know.
So last night I contented myself with reminding myself that I had done an extra run on Sunday in anticipation of the heat the next 3 days and didn't try to go running.
This morning I missed swimming because we slept in the other room and I had set my watch to go off but apparently did not hear it. But today Shirley has a doctor appt so will take E'llee with her to that and bring her over afterwards. So I can run to the gym for a bit after I get off work and get a workout in. Good stuff. cool and won't add any additional time to my transitions. And dinner is already made! Camarones soup!
Friday, July 24, 2009
Paradigm shift
However this week I had training Monday - Wednesday which I don't like because my routine got broken. I didn't get to ride in the mornings and afternoons.
The other things I determined is that if I don't sweat enough to need a shower it doesn't count.
Well Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday i decided that during lunch I would find somewhere I could go and walk instead of going somewhere to eat. This is not something I would have done in teh past.
I found that I enjoyed the walk and felt renewed and usually less hungry immediately after the walk. I timed my food so that I ate when i was hungry instead of at specific times too. I brought good healthy food from home and enjoyed that instead of eating a burger or going to the Sweet Tomatos buffet and over eating during lunch.
Do Over
Last night was a frustrating night. I took off early from work to take E'llee swimming. We had a good time but afterwards she wanted to go to the park. I thought Etta was going to be there at 5 so I figured I would go home and get ready for a ride. Etta didn't show up until 5:30 and E'llee was pretty needy and demanding so I spent my time meeting E'llee's demands and not getting ready for a ride and trying to watch the TT from the tour.
When they arrived, things went smoothly and I got ready for my ride. I swapped out my pedals, put new tubes on both wheels and checked the tires for glass. Got my stuff ready and finally got out for a ride.
About 7 miles in I got a flat. I had scrounged to find the 1 canister of Co2 I could find and accidentally blew off about half the cartridge and could not limp home on that little in the tire without damaging the rim. So I called Cate for an emergency ride or pump. It felt like the tire was still not holding air so I decided to give up the ghost and just go home.
Cate and Hannah had been at Shirley's purse party but decided that they would go to Macy's and look at purses there as the purses at the party were over priced. So they dropped me off and went off to shop. I took my shower and made myself some nachos. I made less than what I would usually make at first but then ended up making another batch. not because I was hungry or even particularly enjoying them. I was filling the feeling. I was disappointed, frustrated, and wanted to just relax and do what I wanted. So if this is what I could do then that is what I was going to do.
So needless to say I wasn't happy with the fact that I over ate. However, I am happy that I know exactly why I overate. So now the do over. What to do instead?
I think instead I need to change my perspective on the whole situation. I looked at what I didn't have or couldn't do instead of what I did get from the situation.
- I got to take E'llee swimming
- I got to spend time with E'llee enjoying her energy while waiting for etta
- I am blessed to have Etta in my and E'llee's life and that she is so dedicated to being a part of E'llee's life
- I did get to watch most of the tour
- I have a partner who will come rescue me whenever I need it
I was focussing on the things I didn't have and the limited time I had. I will change my frame of reference next time and look at the abundance of things I have. not at the limitations.
Wednesday, July 15, 2009
Naturally Slender Eating #7
Discussion of metabolism and how to eat based on your metabolism. I have always seen myself as someone with a slow metabolism. I am active yet do not appear to be able to eat like many of the people who work out as much or less than i do. However I honestly think that the truth may be in the times I don't see them. They likely do not consume as much when I am not around.
There are many people around me who are over weight so if I compare myself to those people I eat an average amount. However, if I compare myself to people around me who are naturally slender I notice that they don't eat as much nor as fast. I watch Hilary eat. He takes the entire morning to consume a bagel. Give me a break. If there is food in front of me it is gone.
I am working on slowing down so that I pay more attention to where I am at with my fullness and whether I have had enough. I actually find I enjoy the food more even though I may not eat as much. I enjoy the flavors instead of the quantity. It's another mind shift for me.
So her point here is to eat like a Naturally slender person. That being that those who are Naturally Slender are able to adjust their eating naturally based on various factors. That is the balance that I want to master. How do they know when to start or stop eating? HUNGER
I have noticed lately that I am afraid to be hungry. When I get hungry I feel this compulsion to eat to get rid of the feeling. Why should my response be fear? Have I ever not had enough? Never. Am I likely to not have food in the future? No. So why fear? Is the fear based on the feeling? Am I just afraid to feel? I wonder if this is more the issue? My tendency is to stuff my feelings. So I stuff my hunger (but is this a feeling or a sensation?) with food.
One of the tools she recommends is to use a hunger diary. To rate your hunger on a scale of 1 - 10 of how hungry you are before you eat and after you eat. I doubt I will actually keep a diary as I have a hard time with having the same format with me all the time but I can definitely keep track of and ask myself where am I currently on the scale before I eat and after I eat.